Well, Vacation’s Over

aac7ce7e98b67ecd6894c149b9e1b267

Vacation (aka- “work-ation”) is officially done and over with. I spent most of it working and doing paperwork/classes and being sick, but there were a few fun points sprinkled throughout it so I can’t complain too much.

My bestie made some amazing baked goods again today. Peanut butter fudge and banana bread. I am convinced she is trying to ensure everyone in the house one day has diabetes.

4385448

Got to have a (mostly) fun pizza/movie night with my boyfriend. I say “mostly” because this was the first night I was sick so that tends to put a damper on things. He was sweet and took care of me though, so that was nice. We watched Princess Mononoke (my first time seeing it). I really enjoyed the film, though I gotta say I was surprised by how much darker and more violent this one was than the other Studio Ghibli films I’ve seen. Not that that is a bad thing, just very surprising to say the least. I loved it though. I like darker animation in general though. Anyone who says cartoons are only for children clearly hasn’t ventured far into the world of animation.

80e265db6255b66b1e363c2bb029bfa2
Same, girl. Same.

I’d have to say that out of any of the Studio Ghibli movies I’ve seen so far, Princess Mononoke was by far the most mature. There has been a magical childlike quality in the others I’ve watched that I didn’t feel in this one but the magic is still definitely there. It’s just a different type of magic is all. The movie explores the relationship between humans and nature, focusing on the conflict of gods, beasts, and man (man, of course, being the biggest beast of them all) trying to share the same earth.

20120721_mononoke-415x260

Well, I would write more but as I said at the start of this post: vacation has come to an end and I have to work in the morning. Off to bed now.

2 thoughts on “Well, Vacation’s Over”

Leave a Reply

