Watcha Reading: The Girl With All the Gifts

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts-2

Although I have yet to mention it in this blog, I belong to a pretty snazzy book club. We’re a small group (there are only eight of us), but we have a great dynamic and have managed to keep it that way for three years now as of this month. Each month, one of us is in charge of picking about four to five books for the rest of our lot to vote on. The winning book is what we end up reading and then we get together near the end of the month to discuss the book (honestly, only for like five minutes and then the talk always turns to inappropriate banter on one topic or another for the rest of the night). There’s also almost always booze and delicious food. Needless to say, it’s always a good time. šŸ™‚

g67xj

This month is my turn to play hostess. I suggested a variety of books, and the winner was The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey. A few of the girls even had it on their TBR lists already. I’d had a good friend of mine recommend it to me months ago. She literally squealed with joy when I told her I was finally going to be reading it.

Although I am not all that far into the book yet, I can honestly say I like it quite a bit already. It doesn’t suffer from any sort of a slow start or info dump that you sometimes have to get through in even the best of books. The chapters are short and interesting, with different characters’ POVs. The characters have depth to them and feel real. Your initial assumptions about them do not define them as characters. They’re complex.

I don’t want to give much about the plot away since I think it is kind of fun going into it without much background info like I did. It’s a book that doesn’t feel the need to spoon feed you all the answers right away. You learn more about the characters, plot, and setting the further you go along reading it. It is a dystopian horror, I can tell you that much. The world has seen better days in it, and although the outlook of the future is grim, there is hope. But what if you had to do horrible things to hang on to that hope? Unethical things? It’s a story that forces its characters to set aside their humanity at times all in the hopes of saving humanity. And all while questioning what exactly even defines humanity to begin with.

If you’re interested in it, here is the book’s goodreads page so you can read a little more about it, but I do honestly think this is a book that is fun to go into with very little background information on it.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17235026-the-girl-with-all-the-gifts

 

6 thoughts on “Watcha Reading: The Girl With All the Gifts”

  1. I loved the premise of this book. I didn’t finish it, but that’s not a knock on the story’s quality at all. I think it sort of slid under my radar, and by the time I was going to pick it back up, I would’ve had to have started over. I wrote an unfinished review of it where I still would highly recommend it. The author wrote Hellblazer, which is the movie Constantine was based on, and I considered Constantine my favorite movie for years!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, I’ve done that same thing with some good books too (not finishing them for some reason or another). I think it’s just life gets so busy sometimes and then when I get back to reading something some new book catches my eye and I just start reading that. I had no idea of any of the author’s other works, so that is really interesting to know. I’ve never actually seen Constantine but maybe I’ll have to check it out some time. Have you read Hellblazer? I’d definitely be interested in checking out more of this author’s work. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read Hellblazer! I just really loved that movie, though a lot of people didn’t because Keanu Reeves is different from how the comics portray the main character. Since I haven’t read them, I don’t have a standard from which to judge. I am interested in the movie show that has a more true portrayal, but I don’t think it’ll lessen my enjoyment of the film. It’s dark and has angels. That’s pretty much all I need for enjoyment :p

        Liked by 1 person

  2. While I am enjoying the book that I’m currently reading, I’m excited to start this.
    Also, I’m going to have to partially steal your book club thunder post when I host for October for a post on my blog. That’s what you get for being in the same book club as me, loser! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

