2017 Reading Plans

As is the case with many readers, I have this habit of obtaining more books to read while others continue to sit on the shelf yet to be read. I know, I know. First world problems, right?

8790781dfc3f1cccce04a7c8d080d057
The struggle is real.

Well, it’s time to focus on some of the books I already own and  put a major  dent in those. (Disclaimer: I am going to indulge in other books too,  I am in a book club after all, and a girl can only resist new books so much.) 😉

These are maybe a third of my poor, neglected books that I’m going to try to make my reading priority in 2017:

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo- Having read and thoroughly enjoyed Bardugo’s The Grisha Trilogy, I just could not resist buying this book when it first came out. Not to mention, this novel with black-edged pages is pretty damn gorgeous-looking. I know they say not to judge a book by its cover, but I did. I judged it hard and took that baby home no questions asked. And yet for some reason, it remains unread (well, my bff happily read it, so at least there’s that.)

Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues by Diana Rowland- This is the second novel of the White Trash Zombie series. (Another series with eye-catching covers. Especially the first one, My Life as a White Trash Zombie.)

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest- Another book I pined for and obtained only for it to wind up unread for far too long. Like, criminally long. Steampunk + Zombies = Why in the hell haven’t I gotten around to reading this yet??

Fevre Dream by George RR Martin- this book will be my first adventure with GRRM outside the world he wove for A Song of Ice and Fire. It will be pretty interesting reading something completely different by him.

Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist- this is probably the book that has been on my shelf the longest among this list. Why? I can’t say. I really enjoyed the author’s other book, Let the Right One In. Hopefully I’ll like this one just as much.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs- Alas, a book I started and got sidetracked with. A crime all too common for me. Once I finish reading this one I’ll have to watch the movie to see how it holds up to the book.

Watership Down by Richard Adams- Another that I’ll have to watch the movie for after I read the book. I saw recently that both Pierce Brown and Joe Hill (2 authors that have both written books on this list) gave it 5/5 stars so that seems promising.

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill- I’ve read Joe Hill’s graphic novels that make up the series Locke and Key, and I’ve seen the film adaptation of his book Horns, but this will be my first actual novel I’ve read by him and I’m excited for it.

Golden Son by Pierce Brown- this one is especially important to finish up soon as I am borrowing it from the lovely Cupcakes and Machetes and would like to get it back to her asap. ❤

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch- A book I started reading over a year ago and was impressed with right off the bat, but somehow never finished reading. The shame. >__<

What are some of your reading goals for the new year? How are you fairing against your own TBR shelves of books?

 

8 thoughts on “2017 Reading Plans”

  1. I only read comic books and graphic novels these days, I have a stack of unread ones sitting next to me at this very moment. I really must cut down on the amount I buy as I can’t seem to consume them as quickly as I buy them… It’s not really my fault of course, every time I go into my local comic shop the covers are all so fantastic they call to me, I just can’t help myself (it is of course the fault of the companies that produce them and the shop keeper for selling them… I am not weak willed… I’m not… ) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ack! So many good titles and many of them are on my TBR list, too. I own a copy of Fevre Dream. It’s sitting on my shelf right now. I spent a good half a year reading GRRM’s Dreamsong Volumes so I figured I’d take a break from him, but I want to read all of his stuff, because he pretty much recycles plots like every other author, and it’s giving me so much insight to how ASOIAF might end.

    I read Miss Peregrine and really liked the writing! I haven’t picked up Hollow City yet (the next in the series). I’d love to hear what you think of it. I’m going to reserve saying anything else 🙂

    Omg Watership Down. The nostalgia is flowing. I saw the movie long before I read the book. My dad rented it when he saw it was an animated film about rabbits little knowing that though it was a cartoon, it was not kiddie in the least. I wasn’t traumatized like I’ve heard other children were. Honestly, I was fascinated by it and loved it. I read the book as soon as I could find it, and years later he released a sequel Tales from Watership Down, which is nearly as good. WD was one of the first stories I read that I could say was an allegory (though I didn’t know it at the time), and it’s on my to-reread list…which I’ll get to one day.

    I’ve got Locke Lamora on my list, too. It does sound good, and I enjoyed the sample.

    I’m still sitting at over 500 books on my TBR list D: Nor do I think I’m going to make my 20 book goal for 2016. I’m three books away, and I’m currently reading three books that I doubt I’ll finish before the year is up. I think I might lower my book goal to 15 next year. I’ll only technically have 12 if I finish the 3 then :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How cool that we have so many TBR books in common. 🙂 Nice to hear more positive news on Watership Down. I can’t wait to check it out. 20 books was my goal for 2016 too! I finished 30 so far, but some were graphic novels and those are always so much quicker to read so definitely not the same as reading 30 actual novels. (Though incredibly enjoyable!) I think my goal will probably be 30 or 35 for 2017, but again, that’s to include room for quick reads like graphic novels.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely padded my read list with shorter books/stories. I should try to do that next year, but I think I’m going to lower my goal to 15 just to be on the safe side. I did pick up how much I was reading around the middle of the year when I started doing the State of the Reader posts since they kept me more honest. I *may* finish two more before the year ends, and maybe I’ll grab a short story or something. Anything could happen I suppose!

        I can’t wait to hear your take on Watership Down. The movie is actually good. They alter some things of course, but it stays true to the story.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

