The Batman Adventures: Mad Love Re-Read & Review

“Face it, Harl. You’re a certified nutzo wanted by the law in two dozen states . . . and hopelessly in love with a murderous, psychopathic clown. At what point did my life go looney tunes? How did it happen? Who’s to blame?” — Harley Quinn

ml3

First things first, Happy Valentine’s Day to all of my fellow bloggers out there! ❤

In honor of the holiday I decided to re-read and review an old favorite of mine, The Batman Adventures: Mad Love by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm. Originally published in February of 1994 and set in the continuity of Batman: The Animated Series, Mad Love gives us Harley Quinn’s origin story and follows her as she plans and attempts to carry out the ultimate scheme to impress the Joker and win his affections once and for all.

ml5

I have a lot of love for these characters despite the fact that they both have done some pretty awful things. I’ve always been a fan of the bad guys, which is one reason I think I’ve also always been so into Batman to begin with. I mean, c’mon, dat Rogues Gallery! So, although I love me some villains and reading about all the awful things they do, this does not mean I am pro-messed-up-relationships like that of Harley Quinn and the Joker. Just like I am not pro-destroying-entire-planets, pro-tying-damsels-to-railroad-tracks, or other dastardly things villains do just because I choose to read about them.

Sure, the Joker and Harley Quinn are a famous and well-loved (on-and-off-again) couple in the comic book world, but that does not automatically mean that they are a good couple. Hence why I did not select them for my recent Cute Comic Couple post despite the fact that I love the Joker and I love Harley Quinn. Here’s the thing: I love to read about them, but I’m not going to romanticize an abusive relationship.

ml2

I’ve seen a lot of girls post things about wanting a relationship like the Joker and Harley’s and I can’t help but think that either they don’t know their source material or that I should feel very, very concerned for them. They may be interesting characters to read about, but their relationship is not what any sane person would consider to be “cute”, or even healthy for that matter. Even to this day, the stronger and more independent Harley still struggles with her feelings for the Joker from time to time, but at least she can see how toxic their romance is.

Exhibit A: Her acknowledging how bad things were with the Joker and deciding that no one ever gets to put their hands on her ever again after a scuffle with interstellar bounty hunter, Lobo in the Injustice comics.

90f217e7979d473bb8a3ff5e53f2018d
Tell ’em, girl.

I feel like I went off on a little side rant here, so apologies for that, I just felt it needed saying. So, without further adieu, onto the review! 😛

Our story begins with the Joker and Harley doing what they do best: bad guy stuff. With Commissioner Gordon in their grasps and plenty of sharp and pointy objects to play with, the diabolical duo are having one hell of a date night. Ready to inflict some serious pain on the good ol’ commissioner, their plans are shattered by the sudden appearance of Batman, doing what it is he does best: thwarting the Joker’s plans.

104bdc9f22589b14cdd2696c496c4e29
“Damnit, Batsy! Always spoiling my fun. THIS is why we can’t have nice things!”

Needless to say this proves to be quite the mood killer for Mista’ J despite Quinn’s best attempts to get him to “rev up his Harley” vroom vroom! 😉

rev-up-harley

Not dealing well with the Joker’s rejection, Harley’s mood shifts from disappointment to anger as she blames Batman for coming between her and her man. This is when we get our big flashback of Harley’s start at Arkham Asylum as the young psychiatrist Dr. Harleen Quinzel who quickly falls for a notorious patient, none other than the Joker himself. While she originally intends to get into the criminal’s head, he winds up turning the tables on her and getting into hers, painting a picture of himself as a victim, and Batman as a self-righteous monster always there to knock him down. She convinces herself that she can help him. That he only needs love and acceptance, the very things that she could give him, to be better.

Her dangerous new romance seems to be cut short though when the Joker escapes the asylum. She finds herself worried sick about him in his absence. It isn’t until a week later that Batman drags back a bleeding and battered Joker, enraging the protective Quinzel and causing her to reach her breaking point.With her love interest wounded and locked back up, Harleen flips the switch to full-blown Harley Quinn, robbing a costume and novelty shop to piece together her trademark jester costume and busting the Joker out of the asylum so they can begin their official reign of chaos on Gotham City.

ml1

Harley’s head is filled with delusional dreams of a future life and family with the Joker, something she knows she will never have as long as Batman is in the picture. She’s convinced herself at this point that Batman is the only thing standing in their way of true domestic bliss. So she makes the decision to take the bat out of the picture for good. I won’t give away the rest of what happens, but I’m sure you can imagine that things do not go for Harley as she would like to think they will.

ml6

All in all, Mad Love is a staple point in the history and development of Harley Quinn’s character. Recognized by IGN Comics as “one Batman book everyone should read”, this one-shot won an Eisner Award for “Best Single Story” in 1994. Even Mark Hamill himself, who has voiced the Joker numerous times in various animations and video games, has named this comic as one of his all-time favorites.

She may have gotten her start as the Joker’s sidekick/girlfriend, but there is no doubt that Harley Quinn has become a force all her own in DC comics over the years.

ssquinncostumereveal

12 thoughts on “The Batman Adventures: Mad Love Re-Read & Review”

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you like the review. 🙂 Harley’s great. I’ve been a fan of her pretty much since her start when I was a kid and it’s been exciting to see how she’s changed and grown as a character over the years. And I agree, Bruce Timm and Paul Dini are amazing. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m glad you went off on that side rant about abusive relationships. I think people romanticize it because like you said they don’t know the source material and they have this weird thing where they think major infatuation is love. Like, you need to be OBSESSED with someone in order to truly love them. It’s very odd.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 🙂 Yes, I agree with you 100% about people possibly seeing the obsession part and wanting that sort of thing without realizing that obsession and love are not the same thing. That it isn’t even healthy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the post! Very appropriate for Valentine’s day I would say lol. I particularly enjoyed the line at the beginning about damsels tied to a train :. Juts seems to remind me of dan dastardly from old school cartoons lol. I really love the Joker (even though he’s demented) and can admit that he was the 1st villain I fell for despite him being known as a lunatic. It’s messed up how he treats Harley though and I renown her as a “Swimfan” herself (1990’s movie reference lol).
    -Luna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I felt like this was a lot longer than most of my posts so I’m glad it managed not to be a bore or anything. lol Yeah, the damsel tied to the tracks is definitely a classic trope I like to poke fun at. I used to watch the Rocky and Bullwinkle show when I was a kid, so it always makes me think of Snidely Whiplash. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you used a picture of Harley’s Joker (great meta point lol and a fantastic cosplayer). There is totally a way to live villains, sympathize with them, but not condone their behavior, and you can also enjoy a couple, but realize it is not a healthy relationship. I like that Harley’s narrative is about how abusive and dangerous her relationship with the Joker was, too. It shows the writers have an insight that I wish purveyors of other relationships (looking at you Meyers and James) had.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I’m glad to now know who the wonderful cosplayer was in that picture. 🙂 I had no idea, but I saw the image on Pinterest and was like “Damn, that’s good!” 😛
      Yeah, I really can appreciate the direction the writers have gone with Harley as far as growth and realization. It’s nice to see. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

