Review (No Spoilers): Giant Days

So, I can’t say for sure if I believe in fate or not, but it certainly seemed to ring true with this weekend’s addition of Giant Days to my comic collection.

51zrjcyzdzl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I’m lucky enough to have a boyfriend who also loves comics. This means many of our date days involve excitedly perusing the many shelves of our local comic book shop and/or the library. This weekend it was all about the comic shop and I was a girl on a mission! I went with several recommendations in mind, many fromΒ The Brunette Book Worm Blog‘s recent post about some of her top comic picks. On this list was volume 1 of Giant Days, written by John Allison and illustrated by Lissa Treiman with colors by Whitney Cogar.

And by some weird twist of fate, the woman working behind the register just so happened to select this exact title that was on my list to fill an empty spot on the shelf in front of me.With absolutely no prompting from me. It was uncanny!

not-sure-if-psychic-or-stalker-jpg

She was awesome and backed up the recommendation when I told her about it, so it was basically a done deal.Β Giant Days had officially earned its spot on my bookshelves. (Especially since my boyfriend was treating!) πŸ˜›

I am so glad I picked this little gem off the shelf. I feel like I must have devoured the first volume because I was eagerly turning the page to read the supposed next chapter and surely enough was confronted by the covers gallery and end of volume 1.

picmonkey-collage-gd-covers
I was so bummed I didn’t have volume 2 on hand. It was so fun and cute, and I loved the characters. It’s always great to see a story focused on strong female friendships, and that is exactly what Giant Days represents. Some people assume male writers are incapable of writing believable female characters, but to them I say “NAY!” because Giant Days is proof that this just isn’t the case as it
follows new friends Susan, Esther, and Daisy as they navigate their way through life at University. Each of our leading ladies is a different and believable character with their own talents and their own feelings and lives that they are trying to figure out.

So, enough about what I’m reading, what are you currently reading? Have you uncovered any recent gems of your own lately? πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Review (No Spoilers): Giant Days”

  1. It’s funny when you mentioned this comic I was like didn’t I see this mentioned on another blog before lol. May have been the same one. I figure this is a sign to go find this comic and read it for myself! Awesome post and I’m glad that you were able to find and enjoy the comic!

    -Luna πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to have found it too, it was a treat to read. Ooh, and if you wind up reading it I’d love to see what you thought of it too. It really was a lot of fun.
      Haha and yeah, it very well may have been the same blogger. I only just recently started following her blog but have really been enjoying it so far. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Currently reading Tempting Danger by Eileen Weeks. It’s an urban fantasy that has been on my TBR shelf for a long while. Not too sure how I feel about it yet as some things are too much like other UF series about werewolves and the MC has the come on lines of an inexperienced horny teenager. “Put yourself inside me,” being the least sexiest thing I’ve read in a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

