Necro Rhino Writing Update: Week One

nr1

So, I’m a week into my “Necro Rhino” 30 day writing challenge and am still chugging along at a good pace. 🙂 I was hoping to finish today with at least 11,662 words and I am just 829 words shy at the moment, with hours to go until my day comes to an end.

I’ve really embraced the fact that first drafts are not meant to be perfect and it’s helping me gain the forward momentum in my writing that I had hoped for. I’d love to walk out of this writing challenge with my 50,000 words (or more if I’m lucky) and have something I can craft into an actual novel. Once I get to that point I will worry, fuss, and edit my little heart out, but for now I’m just writing and embracing the chaos!

nr2

I’ll admit, the story is changing a lot from what I originally envisioned, but I’m excited about the direction it’s heading. It’s also getting easier to write as I embrace the changes instead of stubbornly trying to hold onto the original picture I had in mind. I’m looking forward to seeing where it finally winds up once I’ve finished.

nr3

11 thoughts on “Necro Rhino Writing Update: Week One”

  1. Congratulations and keep it up! I’m happy to see that you are staying up with your writing challenge! I definitely understand trying to hold on to your original thought of the story. When I write it seems the plot or ending always changes from what I originally intended, but you’re correct embracing the change makes things easier then trying to stick with an idea. I figure that my creativity knows what’s best for me and subconsciously throws out ideas that will no longer fit with the story lol. Can’t wait for the next update! Happy Wednesday!

    -Luna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😀 I really appreciate the support. And you’re so right, it’s always good to listen to the creativity when it comes, even if it isn’t what we originally envisioned. Thanks again, and have a great week!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you’re doing a phenomenal job of keeping up with your writing. 829 words to go is none too shabby! You’re inspiring me to consider riding the Necro Rhino this year on November lol. I have a few stories I could work on. My biggest hurdle is I promised myself I’d physically write everything out before putting it on Word, but I bet I could get around that. I’m totally okay with counting words manually 😋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

