Writer’s Guilt

Oof! You know how sometimes you’re reading a book and you come across a point that makes you have to stop and process what you just read because it was like a punch to the heart?

wg1

Well, this is where I must ask those of you who also write, do you ever feel like this after you’ve written a certain scene in your own story? Do you ever feel writer’s guilt or remorse for the things you put your characters through? I know they’re fictional, but it’s amazing how you can come to care for them, just like the characters you read about in other people’s books. Or am I just a weirdo? ๐Ÿ˜›

wg2

 

19 thoughts on “Writer’s Guilt”

  1. When I was in my teens, a good three hundred years ago, I used to write short stories about a commando unit called The Rat Pack. Sergeant Junglerat lead the team. There was Corporal Hicks, Private Hawkins, Private Duke and Private Max. In story 4 Private Max was blown apart by a grenade. I actually had tears rolling down my cheeks as I wrote about Max’s last moments. Haha. Crazy but true!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, wow! Thank you so much for sharing that! I can’t blame you one bit for being so upset while writing that. It would be hard to let go of a character that’s been around that long for sure! :O
      Thanks again for writing back with your own experience on this sort of thing. It’s nice to know I’m not alone on this! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel that way. I know that soon in my story that I’m writing, betrayal is on the horizon but I’m putting off the inevitable lol.

    -Luna ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. Oh, no! lol It’s funny how we are the ones who choose to make these horrible things happen and yet we dread actually writing it or feel so bad about it later. Writing is so strange sometimes. lol
      Good luck with that impending betrayal and the rest of your writing, and thanks for sharing your thoughts on this!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true. ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose if I didn’t feel bad about it I couldn’t possibly expect anyone who might one day read it (if I’m lucky) to feel anything from it either. Thanks for your input on this topic. It’s always appreciated! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. lmao Exactly how I felt! ๐Ÿ˜› It’s like “Oh, if only this didn’t have to happen to you, my poor sweet cinnamon bun of a character,” as you continue to write horrible things for them to endure. lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

