Wonder Woman (No-Spoiler Review)

ww2

“You fight like a girl” is an all-too-often-hurled insult in school yards, but Wonder Woman is a classic icon of female empowerment, busting through these sorts of stereotypes and taking names. I’ve been excited to see the new WW film since the first trailer came out and it instantly gave me chills. After the long wait, the film finally hit theaters yesterday.Β  I was beyond excited when, by some lovely twist of fate, my boyfriend got out of work early on Friday, allowing us to visit the theater midday before the crowds came flooding in.

First thing’s first, I love Gal Gadot in this role. She nailed her performance in my opinion. Everything from Diana first being exposed to “polite society” in London after being raised and trained among only Amazons, to her refusing to back down from what she believes in and not being afraid to get into the thick of things in order to do so. She did a great job, and was someone you want to root for and believe in.

ww3

This movie is Diana’s origin story, before the world would come to know her as Wonder Woman. The events unfold under the backdrop of WW1, in war-torn Europe. Having grown up in the Amazonian paradise that is Themyscira, Diana has no idea of the ugly reality of war she is stepping into when she decides to go into battle.

ww4

I really enjoyed Chris Pine as Steve Trevor and what they did with his character throughout the movie. Even though the movie is called ‘Wonder Woman’ he doesn’t fall into some lame sidekick role with no ambitions of his own. All the actors did a good job in my opinion.

ww5

I don’t want to go into too many more details because it’s more fun to just go see the movie for yourself. πŸ˜‰ I thought the film was really good, though, and I’m hoping to see more like this from DC with their upcoming films. *cough cough and maybe a Batwoman movie would be nice, too. cough cough* Just sayin’.

18 thoughts on “Wonder Woman (No-Spoiler Review)”

  1. Awesome review! Some friends and I seen it Friday night. It’s super amazing (don’t tell anyone but I didn’t really care for wonder woman πŸ˜‰) nut that’s just because I didn’t know her story. The more I read, the more I loved and the movie just plain blew me away!!!!

    -Luna 😁😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜€ I’m so glad you ended up loving the movie despite not being all that into WW when you first went into it. πŸ™‚
      I’m pretty excited about an upcoming WW novel coming out in August by Leigh Bardugo. She’s a lovely writer and I can’t wait to see how she tells a WW story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My girlfriend and I took my mother to go see this last night and we all thought it was great. I think it could have been a tad shorter, but the context build up was great and made the action seems more substantial when they actually happened. Gal Gadot slayed as Wonder Woman and had fantastic on-screen chemistry with Chris Pine — their roles were well written and never once strayed from this being Diana’s story. Accomplishing that without reducing Pine to a sidekick or an afterthought is a feat in itself.

    The only issues I had with the film were minor. There’s a weird cut when Diana realizes she didn’t have her sword, then hops off the roof with it. I get why that happened, but the cut was super awkward. And with the film being her remembering it as a backflash, there were scenes shown she’d have had no way of knowing since neither her nor Pine were there. But it’s a movie and every scene served a purpose.

    I’d go out on a limb and say this is my favorite DC film to date — more so than the original Burton Batman films or The Dark Knight. It continued the pacing of Man of Steel and Batman vs. Superman, but made FAR better use of its time and benefited from strong storytelling and character development (not MARTHA!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! you made so many good points in your comment! πŸ™‚ Haha Especially the whole Martha thing. lol
      I’m glad you and your girlfriend and mom all thought it was great too. Everyone seems really into it so far so it’s nice to see DC hit the mark with this one. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ Yeah, it’s definitely worth the watch, especially on the big screen! Hopefully you’ll get to see it soon (plus you get the added bonus of dodging those opening weekend crowds!) πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Super Review!!!! Yes definitely awesome film I really enjoyed it, your so rite I didn’t think about how it but everyone played there parts excellently​, so happy they gave development to all the supporting characters 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a really good review and im so glad someone shares the same kinda opinions about this movie as me! I’ve just started blogging and would love it if you could follow me back? I’m planning on writing a few marvel/dc reviews too x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚ Sure, I’d love to follow you back. Welcome to the world of blogging! You picked a great place to get started. This community is so friendly and there are so many great bloggers here. πŸ˜€ Looking forward to your upcoming Marvel/DC posts you mentioned!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

