I Dare You Book Tag

Big thanks to the lovely Raven & Beez who tagged me to do the I Dare You Book Tag. πŸ™‚ These bibliophiles run a snazzy blog together, so if you’re a book-lover as well be sure to check them out! πŸ˜‰

I’m shaking it up a wee bit and doing books AND comics for this because I love to read both. Basically, if it has pages, it counts in my eyes! πŸ˜› So, without further adieu, let’s start this tag! πŸ˜€

1.) What book has been on your shelves the longest?

Ooh, interesting question. I’ve still got a few books floating around from when I was but a wee moth. Pretty sure I have a couple of the Redwall books by Brian Jacques floating around. Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein is another I’ve hung onto for as long as I can remember. (It was actually my mom’s book that she gave to me when I was little.)

where_the_sidewalk_ends1

2.) What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

Let’s see . . .Β  for novels: Last read was Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, my current read is Soulless by Gail Carriger, and my next read is gonna have to be The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu by Joshua Hammer. Planning on plucking it up from my boyfriend’s library this weekend.

And for comics/graphic novels: Last read was DC Bombshells, vol. 2. Current read is Dungeons & Dragons: The Legend of Drizzt, vol. 1. Not sure yet what one I’ll read after that.

3.) What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Oh, jeez. This is a tricky one. I can’t think of any I’ve read and loathed that everyone else was really into off the top of my head. Lame answer, I know, but it’s all I got for now.

4.) What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

I have a mountain of a TBR list and it just keeps getting bigger and bigger thanks to all you wonderful book bloggers. I’m sure there’s plenty I’ll never get to unfortunately.

11241238-Everest

5.) Which book are you saving for retirement?

I’m assuming they’re getting at which book has the heftiest word count and thus will take up a lot of free time. Hmm . . . I doubt I’ll wait til retirement to read this one in its entirety, but I have this old encyclopedia of witchcraft and demonology that had belonged to my grandma and I’ve picked at it here and there because it’s so interesting, but that thing is a tome, and the font is very small so it will definitely take me a while to get through it once I finally set out to read it from start to finish.

6.) Last Page: Do you read it first or wait til the end?

Last page is called LAST PAGE for a reason. lol Why would I want to ruin the ending? It would take all the fun out of guessing what was going to happen.

7.) Acknowledgements: Are they a waste of paper and ink or interesting?

I think they’re great. They’re often pretty interesting to read.

8.) Which book character would you switch places with?

lol Bad things tend to happen to the characters in books I like, so I’m a little hesitant with answering this question.

13a255e207c919f4f2a19d040106dcaf

9.) Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

Sort of. It’s kind of like how you might associate a certain time with the point in your life when it came out. I mostly remember what stage of my life I was in when I read a certain book. I feel like that is such an utterly boring answer. lol

10.) Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

When I went through a really difficult time emotionally just over 2 years ago, a friend secretly purchased a couple books I had been wanting to read and mailed them to me with a sweet little note. She intended for it to be so secretive but it had her name on one of the papers in there so I figured it out. lol It still makes me smile to think about it because it was such a thoughtful and kind thing to do. The books were Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues and The Lies of Locke Lamora.

11.) Have you ever given away a certain book for a special reason to a special person?

I try to pick books I think people will enjoy (or that I know they’ve been wanting to read). I’ll never just go buy a book I hear is popular in the *hopes* that they might like it. Sometimes I do themes for gifts too, so you might get a couple books with some hidden theme around them because I’m a dork like that. lol

12.) Which book has been with you the most places?

Hmmm . . . I guess any of the books I have on my kindle. I’ve taken that thing with me so many places.

53569221

13.) Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

Nope! Chances are if I hated it then, I wouldn’t be too keen on picking it back up again. πŸ˜‰

14.) Used or brand new?

Either way! I’m just happy to get the book. Especially if it’s a great deal.

15.) Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope.

16.) Have you ever seen a movie that you liked better than the book?

I don’t know if I actually have. I feel like there was one time I told my boyfriend about before, but now it’s not ringing any bells.

17.) A book that’s made you hungry?

None, really. But Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland comes to mind when I think of scrumptious food in books. The Queen of Heart’s tarts and all the tea time goodies and whatnot. πŸ˜›

200px-Madhatter

18.) Who is the person whose book advise you’ll always take?

Cupcakes and Machetes. She has yet to lead me astray! πŸ™‚

19.) Most read authors?

Well, I’ve read several trilogies by various authors over the years, so authors I’ve read more than just three books by would be: George RR Martin, Leigh Bardugo, and J.K. Rowling.

wrtieddsfsdfs.png

20.) Ship from two different books?

Ah, I don’t really have one as far as novels go, but if we’re talking comics I’m gonna do a Marvel/DC mashup here and say Deadpool and Harley Quinn. πŸ˜›

4890404-harleypool+32
Harleypool anyone?

As for tagging people, you guys know the drill: If it sounds like fun to you, have at it! πŸ˜€ If not, no worries. Anyone is more than welcome to join in on the fun!

11 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag”

  1. I don’t know how to tag? Tagging here in Oz means something else. Graffiti haha. I used to that when I was a kid. Ssshhh. I’m meant to be working so I can’t answer all the questions. Hang on but first BIG Kudos to you for HarleyPool. Two of my faves. Batman was always my favourite until I watched Deadpool. I have so much in common with that guy apart from the whole not being able to be killed thing. I’ll just answer random questions. Errr ok. Book I keep trying to read and will, hopefully, finish one day is the Bible. I am a Jedi and don’t follow any other religions but I love a good fiction πŸ˜‰. A book that had a huge impact on my life was Tuesday’s with morrie. Changed me for the better. A character I’d swap places with… Mr Grey… *cough. Haha never read the books but yeah… enough said. I actually prefer old books as opposed to new. You can almost smell the story. They have that muskiness about them. That’s all I’ve got haha. Better do some work. Loved your responses. Nice little insight into who you are. I’m glad the zombie girl is ok now too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, excellent choice! I hadn’t even thought of it! Reminds me of GRRM and all his food descriptions, now that you mention it. lol
      And yay, I’m glad you think this looks fun. I look forward to reading your answers when you do it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

