Posted in Uncategorized, Viewing Pleasures

Beauty and the Beast (2017)

bb1.jpg

“Tale as old as time . . . Song as old as rhyme . . . Beauty and the Beast.”

Beauty and the Beast (1991) is definitely a favorite among many Disney fans. So when the new live action version of the film opened in theaters this past weekend, hopes were high to say the least. I think a lot of people had their torches and pitchforks at the ready just in case.

bb2

I, for one, LOVED it. The film was visually stunning. Emma Watson made a fantastic Belle, and the rest of the cast shined in their roles as well. The movie really stayed true to the animated version, but also added in more backstory and expanded on the relationships (friendships included) of so many of the characters. One of the characters I found much more fleshed out and enjoyable in this version was Gaston’s sidekick, LeFou, a character who has recently stirred a lot of controversy due to *MILDEST OF SPOILERS* his character being Disney’s first openly gay character in one of their films. Kudos to Disney for finally taking this important step in the right direction. To any of the theaters that refused to play this movie due to it having a gay character in it I simply say “Shame on you” and also “Your loss. Because LeFou is the shit.” ❀

bb4

The characters were awesome, but so was the music. The film included all of your favorite Beauty and the Beast songs as well as a few new ones. Nearly 24 hours later I still have the songs stuck in my head. And I am NOT complaining. πŸ˜‰

I just want to gush and gush about this movie, but I will only say one more thing before I end this. If you think you enjoyed the library scene in the original, baby, you ain’t seen nothing yet!

bb5

24 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast (2017)

  1. I’m taking my wife and three daughters to see it this weekend. All the girls love the animated movie and my eldest daughter was in a school production of it a couple of years ago. For me, I’d rather set fire to my hair and run down Main Street naked but… I’ll give it a go for their sake hehe.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. lol Well that’s certainly nice of you to be willing to endure movies you really, really don’t want to see for their sake! πŸ˜› Hopefully you’ll wind up enjoying it more than you’re expecting to.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ You’re making a good call aiming to see it next weekend. This entire weekend shows were selling out for it. I went on Sunday and the first showing I tried to see was all sold out so I had to wait for a later one. The theater was packed to the brim. Should be less chaotic next weekend. πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think everyone has their own stories on how they started to love the animated film. Mine, like many bookworms, was the library πŸ˜€ I look forward to watching this so much as soon as I’m done with my exams. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜€ Yeah, the library scene was definitely an excellent and memorable scene in both the animated and live action version. I think you’ll really enjoy it. Everyone I’ve talked to who has seen it has loved it too. Good luck with your exams!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post! I’m still thinking about the movie as well and I’m shouting from the highest mountain that Disney did an amazing job on it! Have a great day!

    -Luna πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, Belle is definitely one of the good ones! Emma Watson did such a great job stepping into the role. She did it justice and even added her own to it in a way that only made it even better. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I find it hysterical that some theaters refused to show a male on make kiss but are totes okay with glorifying what could be considered bestiality πŸ™„

    My hubby really wants to see it. I’m okay waiting for DVD, though the more I hear, the more I’m being swayed towards the theater!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment